"Boston's most beautiful building"
Located next to the Guildhall in Boston’s South Square, Fydell House is a delightful merchant’s house built at the beginning of the 18th Century. This Queen Anne-style property is now open to the general public and staffed mainly by an army of volunteers.
Visitors can explore the elegant rooms of Fydell House and learn about its fascinating history from the friendly and knowledgeable volunteer guides. There are often temporary exhibitions on display.
Don’t forget to visit the delightful gardens at the back of the house and relax in their tranquility and beauty.
For over 200 years, Fydell House was in the possession of the Fydell family and their descendants, prosperous merchants who dominated Boston society. Mayors and Members of Parliament can be counted among their ranks.
After the death of George Fydell Rowley in 1933, Fydell House was put up for sale. The vicar of Boston, Canon Arthur Cook, and local barrister, John Holman Sutcliffe, saved Fydell House from being demolished by property developers who wanted to build a new housing estate where Fydell House stood.
A charity was set up to protect not just Fydell House, but the other historic buildings in Boston, including the Boston Stump and the Guildhall. A lot of financial support came from wealthy Americans who could trace their ancestors back to the Pilgrim Fathers who had set sail from Boston in 1607.
In 1938, Joseph Kennedy, the US Ambassador to Great Britain and father of President John F Kennedy, formally opened the American Room in Fydell House, which celebrates the strong links between Boston and the USA.
Got a Question?
Use the form to get in touch with Fydell House
© 2011-2018 All rights reserved | Hosted by Jolt | Supported by SpiralMedia.co.uk